California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Topic: 2020 California Lightning Sprint Cars Schedule
Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
January 10, 2020 at 05:34:54 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3102
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Alex Grigoreas (909) 437-3170
For Immediate Release
(Torrance, CA, January 10, 2020) The west coast’s longest-running and number one Lightning Sprint Car organization, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series, has released the schedule for its 27th consecutive season of racing.  The action will begin and finish the year at “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile High Banked Clay Oval,” the Bakersfield Speedway.  The first race will be on March 14thand the last will take place on November 17th.  Sandwiched in between will be 15 other dates.  
Five different tracks will host CLS races in 2020.  Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway will once again be the home track for the series with six races on the schedule.  The club will hit Kern County’s Bakersfield Speedway five-times.  Included at Bakersfield will be the season-ender which has turned into an annual affair with the USAC National and Western States Midgets.  The group will have a pair of races in the middle of the season on the popular 1/3 of a mile banked Santa Maria Raceway.  
When the CLS hits the Merced Speedway on June 27th for the “Wayne Albright Memorial,” the cars will take off their wings for the race which will be a part of the “Civil War Series.”  In addition, it will be part of a three-race “Non-Wing Challenge” that will pay $1,000.00 to the high-point driver.  The other two races in the “Non-Wing Challenge” will be at a pair of the competitions at Ventura. 
Two dates that are yet to be determined will be “Civil War Series” races with the BCRA at thePlacerville Speedway.  In addition to the aforementioned “Civil War Series” dates, one of the Santa Maria events and one of the Bakersfield races will also be part of the jointly sanctioned series. 
2020 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 14th              Bakersfield Speedway
March 21st              Ventura Raceway
April 18th                 Bakersfield Speedway
May 2nd                   Ventura Raceway
June 6th                  Ventura Raceway
June 13th                Bakersfield Speedway
June 27th                Merced Speedway Wayne Albright Memorial (Civil War Series/Non-Wing Challenge)
July 25th                  Santa Maria Raceway (with King of the West Sprint Cars)
August 15th             Santa Maria Raceway (with USAC/CRA Sprint Cars)
August 29th             Ventura Raceway
September 5th         Ventura Raceway
September 19th       Bakersfield Speedway
October 3rd             Ventura Raceway
October 31st            Ventura Raceway
November 17th        (with USAC National Midgets)
The first item on the agenda for the CLS this year will be the annual awards banquet on February 1st.  The gathering will be from 6:00 to 9:00 P.M. at Frantone’s Pizza & Spaghetti Villa at 10808 Alondra Boulevard in Cerritos(90703).  Banquet tickets are $30.00 per person and will feature an all you can eat Italian buffet, beverages and dessert (wine and beer available for additional cost).  You can order tickets by sending a check to: CLS, 22126 Vermont Boulevard, Unit A, Torrance, CA  90502
If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 27th season in 2020, please call Alex Grigoreas at (909) 437-3170.
To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at
1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Gansen
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer
2011 Tim Brown 
2012 Bobby Michnowicz
2013 Stephen Limon                                           
2014 Bobby Michnowicz
2015 Bobby Michnowicz
2016 Bobby Michnowicz
2017 Bobby Michnowicz
2018 Jarrett Kramer
2019 Jarrett Kramer
This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768mailto:[email protected]

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2023 Privacy Policy