California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
September 30, 2019 at 10:01:56 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3102


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, September 30, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series will make its next to last appearance of 2019 at its home track, the Ventura Raceway, on this Saturday night, October 5th.   Spectator gates will open at 3:00 P.M. and racing will begin at 5:30. The Senior Sprints, Hobby Stocks, TQ Midgets and Motorcycles will also be on the program.  

Two-time CLS champion and current point leader Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley has dominated the action at the beachside track thus far in 2019.  He won the first four races there before finishing sixth on August 24th.  Local Cody Nigh of Camarillo took the win that night.  Things returned to normal when Kramer bested the field again for his fifth Ventura win on September 7th.  

Two weeks ago, at the Bakersfield Speedway, San Diego’s A.J. Bender passed five-time champion Bobby Michnowicz on the last lap for his first win of the year.  Michnowicz, Lakewood’s Aiden Lange, CHP officer Jeff “Ponch” Dyer of Yucca Valley and Kramer rounded out the top five.  

Through the first nine-races of the year, only three different drivers – Kramer, Michnowicz and Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes – had recorded wins.  Things have gotten a lot more competitive lately with four different drivers – Kramer, Dyer, Nigh and Bender – have posted victories in the last five races.  

This far Kramer still leads the series with six victories overall.  Nunes has three and Michnowicz has two.  Dyer, Nigh and Bender have one win each.

Heading into Saturday’s race, Kramer is starting to put the wraps on his third lifetime CLS championship and the first for the club under the POWRi banner.  He will have a commanding 184-point lead over Nunes.  Nigh is third in the standings, but Bender is only three-points behind and is breathing down his neck.  Both have been closing in on Nunes in the fight for second overall.  Palmdale’s Eric Greco is fifth.  

San Diego’s Jason Arnolde already has the 2019 CLS Rookie of the Year Award locked up.

After the race on the 5th, there will only be two races left for the year.

Fans who would like to attend Saturday’s race in Ventura can find the track on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001).  The track website is and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1723

2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 1539

3 Cody Nigh – Camarillo, CA - 1496

4. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 1493

5. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1415

6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 1370

7. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 1351

8. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita, CA – 1275

9. Jeff Dyer – Yucca Valley, CA – 1261

10. Jon Robertson - Torrance, CA – 997

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at



2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series

March 16                Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

March 23                Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

April 6                     Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes

April 20                   Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

May 4                     Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

May 18                   Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

June 1                    Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

June 15                  Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

July 6                     Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

July 27                    Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer

August 10               Barona Speedway – Jarrett Kramer

August 24               Ventura Raceway – Cody Nigh

September 7           Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

September 21         Bakersfield Speedway – A.J. Bender

October 5               Ventura Raceway

October 26              Ventura Raceway

November 23          Bakersfield Speedway


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon                                          

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

2017 Bobby Michnowicz

2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:[email protected]

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2023 Privacy Policy