California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
September 01, 2019 at 09:36:05 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3098


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, September 1, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series will return to its home track, the Ventura Raceway, this Saturday night, September 7th.  The race will be the 13th of the 17-race schedule for the CLS in 2019 and the sixth of eight scheduled for Ventura.

Two weeks ago at Ventura, local Cody Nigh narrowly beat San Diego’s A.J. Bender to the checkered flag for his first win of 2019.  The victory was especially rewarding for Nigh who is from nearby Camarillo and who grew up going to the races at the beachside oval.  It was his first win at the track since his days in a go-kart.

While Nigh, who is now in his fourth season racing with the CLS, scored his first win of the year, the race also saw the end of the four-race Ventura win streak of Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer.  A two-time CLS champion and the current series point leader, Kramer had won the first four main events of the year at Ventura but finished sixth two weeks ago.

Despite seeing his Ventura winning streak halted, Kramer, 36, still enjoys a 125-point lead over Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes in the championship standings.  Nigh sits in the third-place spot and is followed by San Diego’s A.J. Bender and Eric Greco of Palmdale in fourth and fifth. The best fight in the standings is for sixth where Gardena’s Dominic Del Monte, five-time champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and Bermuda Dunes’ Jeff Dyer are only separated by 11-points.

In addition to leading the point standings, Kramer also leads the series with five wins this year.  Nunes is second with three victories.  Michnowicz has taken the winner’s trophy home two times.  Nigh and Dyer have one win each. 

As well as the CLS, the VRA Sprint Cars, Senior Sprints, IMCA Modifieds and Motorcycles will also be racing at “The Best Little Dirt Track in America” on the 7th.  Fans who would like to attend the race can find the track on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001).  The track website is and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1477

2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 1352

3. Cody Nigh - Camarillo, CA – 1292

4. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 1229

5. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1212

6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 1152

7. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 1143

8. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 1141

9. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 1101

10. Gage Cheek – Santa Clarita, CA – 977

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at


2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series


March 16                Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes


March 23                Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


April 6                     Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes


April 20                   Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz


May 4                     Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


May 18                   Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz


June 1                    Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


June 15                  Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes


July 6                     Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


July 27                    Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer


August 10               Barona Speedway – Jarrett Kramer


August 24               Ventura Raceway – Cody Nigh


September 7           Ventura Raceway


September 21         Bakersfield Speedway


October 5               Ventura Raceway


October 26              Ventura Raceway


November 17          Bakersfield Speedway




1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon                                          

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

2017 Bobby Michnowicz

2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2021 Privacy Policy