California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
August 04, 2019 at 09:21:26 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3102


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, August 4, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series will head to the Barona Speedway for round #11 of its championship season this Saturday night, August 10th.  The race will be the third and final appearance for the CLS on the San Diego County dirt oval in 2019.  Gates will open at noon and the first race will be at 5:00. 

In the CLS first two appearances at Barona this year, archrivals Doug Nunes of Kingsburg and Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita have won the main events.  Series point leader and local Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley finished second at the first race there in April.  At the CLS May appearance at Barona, Kramer recorded his only finish outside of the top three in 2019 when mechanical ills knocked him out of the competition. 

Kramer’s consistency sees him heading into the final seven races of the year with a comfortable 82-point lead over Nunes in the championship standings.  Michnowicz, who is third, saw his aspirations of a sixth championship take a massive blow when he lost an engine while leading with seven laps to go at the last race in Santa Maria.  The mechanical carnage now sees him trailing Kramer by 156-points.  Camarillo’s Cody Nigh and Eric Greco of Palmdale round out the top five. 

In addition to leading the points, Kramer is also the 2019 leader in wins with four.  All four of his victories have come at Ventura where the series heads back to on August 24th.  Nunes is second with three wins this year.  In addition to his previously mentioned triumph at Barona, he has taken the winner’s trophy home in two of the first three races at the Bakersfield Speedway. Michnowicz has sipped the winner’s champagne twice in 2019.  His victories have come at Barona and Bakersfield.  Jeff Dyer of Bermuda Dunes became the fourth different winner in the first 10 races of 2019 with a conquest at Santa Maria.

San Diego’s Jason Arnolde now has a 185-point advantage over fellow San Diegan Shane Sexton in the “Rookie of the Year” chase going into Saturday’s race.

Through the first 10 races of 2019, 45 different drivers have competed with the CLS.  Only 10, Arnolde, Dyer, Greco, Kramer, Michnowicz, Nunes, Nigh, Dominic Del Monte, Aiden Lange and “Rockstar” Jon Robertson have perfect attendance records.  Only seven drivers - Dyer, Greco, Kramer, Michnowicz, Nunes, Nigh and Del Monte - have started every main event.

In addition to the CLS, the IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pony Stocks, Pure Stocks, Side By Sides, So Cal Mowers, 360 Sprints, Mini Dwarfs and Junior Sprints will also be in action on Saturday. 

Fans who wish to attend can find the Barona Speedway at 1754 Wildcat Road in Lakeside (92040).  The track website is and the office phone number is (619) 749-8115.

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 1236

2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg – 1154

3. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 1080

4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1046

5. Eric Greco – Palmdale – 1022

6. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes – 986

7. A.J. Bender – San Diego – 961

8. Aiden Lange – Lakewood – 959

9. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena – 932

10. Gage Cheek – Santa Clarita - 742


The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at


2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series


March 16                   Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes


March 23                   Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


April 6                         Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes


April 20                       Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz


May 4                         Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


May 18                       Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz


June 1                        Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


June 15                      Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes


July 6                          Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer


July 27                       Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer


August 10                  Barona Speedway


August 24                  Ventura Raceway


September 7             Ventura Raceway


September 21           Bakersfield Speedway


October 5                  Ventura Raceway


October 26                Ventura Raceway


November 17            Bakersfield Speedway



1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

2017 Bobby Michnowicz

2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:[email protected]

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2024 Privacy Policy