California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
July 03, 2019 at 04:08:11 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3103


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, July 1, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series will hit the halfway point in its 26th season at its home track, Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway, this Saturday night, July 6th.  Spectator gates at the “Best Little Dirt Track in America” will open at 3:00 P.M. and the first race will be at 5:30.

Going into this weekend’s race, Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley, the 2010 and 2018 CLS champion, is on top of the 2019 championship standings.  The 37-year-old father of two has a 32-point lead and it would be no surprise if he increased the size of his advantage on Saturday.  In the series first three races at the picturesque beachside oval this year, Kramer has emerged victorious each time.

Kramer’s closest pursuer in the standings is Kingsburg veteran Doug Nunes.  Like Kramer, Nunes has three wins this season including the last race at the Bakersfield Speedway on June 15th.  However, Ventura has been the bogey track for the 42-year-old.  In the first eight races of the campaign, he has only finished out of the top three two-times.  Both, a 17th and a 19th, came at Ventura.  His best outing there this year was a third on May 4th.

Five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz sits third in the standings, but only trails leader Kramer by 53-points.  The 55-year-old is the only driver besides Kramer and Nunes to score wins in the CLS this year and he has a pair of victories.  They came a month apart at Bakersfield and Barona.   Thus far at Ventura this year, he has a third, a fifth and a seventh.

Teenager Eric Greco of Palmdale and Ventura local Cody Nigh of Camarillo round out the top five in points.  Greco was second to Kramer in a photo finish at Ventura on March 23rd.  In the two races there since he has recorded a ninth and an eighth-place finish.  Nigh was second to Kramer at Ventura on June 1st and was third behind Kramer and Greco in March.  His worst finish there this year was a 12th on May 4th. 

Fans who would like to attend Saturday’s race on the beach in Ventura can find the track on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001).  The track website is and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

In addition to the CLS, the VRA Sprint Cars, Senior Sprints, Hobby Stocks and Focus/WMR Midgets will also be in action. 

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at


2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Cars Series Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA - 973

2. Doug Nunes - Kingsburg, CA  941

3. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita, CA 920

4. Eric Greco - Palmdale, CA - 838

5. Cody Nigh – Camarillo, CA - 826

6. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA - 784

6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 737

8. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 719

9. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA - 708

10. Dalton Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 644

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series

March 16                   Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

March 23                   Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

April 6                         Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes

April 20                       Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

May 4                         Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

May 18                       Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

June 1                        Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

June 15                      Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

July 6                          Ventura Raceway

July 27                       Santa Maria Raceway

August 10                  Barona Speedway

August 24                  Ventura Raceway

September 7             Ventura Raceway

September 21           Bakersfield Speedway

October 5                  Ventura Raceway

October 26                Ventura Raceway

November 17            Bakersfield Speedway


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

2017 Bobby Michnowicz

2018 Jarrett Kramer


This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:[email protected]

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2024 Privacy Policy