Main site | Classifieds
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: General Forum (go)
Moderators:  /  David Smith Jr

Topic: Wood Dominates Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Sprint Series of Oklahoma Acti
Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
David Smith Jr
March 11, 2018 at 11:35:25 AM
Joined: 11/20/2004
Posts: 8985
ood Dominates Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Sprint Series of Oklahoma Action!
Ardmore, Oklahoma – March 10, 2018 - Joe Wood, Jr. used the phrase ‘high side and flyin’ to perfection as he took the lead early and cruised the rest of the way to claim the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver presented by Smiley’s Racing Products/Hoosier Racing Tires Southwest feature finale Saturday night at Southern Oklahoma Speedway in Ardmore to end two nights’ of racing action.
Blake Daccus and Cody Whitworth started on the pole for the twenty-five-lap feature but the start quickly went red at the start when Shane Sellers got spun in turn two. Gary Owens had nowhere to go and also spun while Bryson Oeschger flipped at the top of turn two. He was uninjured.  
On the complete restart, Whitworth grabbed the lead entering turn one and set the pace while tenth starting Michael Day, Daccus, Kevin Ramey and Justin Melton were the top five after the first lap was complete.
Whitworth, aboard his Allard powered Triple X racing chassis opened up a half stretch lead on the field while behind him, seventh-starting Wood would take over the runner-up position on lap five while Ramey took over third place.
Caution would wave on lap six when Tanner Conn came to a stop at the bottom of turn one.
Whitworth led the field to green on the restart and Wood would get a run on the top side of one and two and power into the lead heading down the backstretch. Day made his way into the runner-up spot on the restart as well and by lap nine, Wood had opened a half-stretch advantage.
While Wood was cruising the top side of the three-eighths mile oval, Day and Ramey began battling for second the rest of the distance.
Caution flags on lap fourteen and lap fifteen for spins slowed the pace with the last ten laps going green-to-checkered.
Wood, aboard the Young Tool and Equipment, Danny Holloway, Mud-X, Southwest AC Electric sponsored #03, would go on the rest of the way unchallenged to claim his first feature victory of the season and fourth career with the series.
Day would hold off Ramey for the runner-up position while 18th starting Andy Shouse came home fourth. Flower Mound, Texas driver Justin Melton rounded out the top five – his best feature finish with the series.
The four, eight lap heat races for the twenty-eight-car field were won by Wood, Sellers, Whitworth and Travis Scott while Chad Wilson led wire-to-wire the twelve-lap “B” feature.
Next up for the SSO will be the series first and only scheduled appearance to the Garfield County Fairgrounds and Enid Speedway in Enid, Oklahoma on Saturday night, March 31.
Sprint Series of Oklahoma
Southern Oklahoma Speedway/Ardmore, Oklahoma
March 10, 2018
28 Cars
Keizer Wheels 1st Heat (8 laps): 1) Joe Wood, Jr., 2) Blake Daccus, 3) Michael Day, 4) Chad Wilson, 5) Tanner Conn, 6) Elliott Amdahl, 7) Scott Evans
Saldana Racing Products 2nd Heat (8 laps): 1) Shane Sellers, 2) Gary Owens, 3) Taylor Courtney, 4) Austin Mundie, 5) Chip Graham, 6) Eric Matthews, 7) Andy Shouse
Rod End Supply 3rd Heat (8 Laps): 1) Cody Whitworth, 2) Kevin Ramey, 3) Dillon Laden, 4) Brandon Jennings, 5) Shayla Waddell, 6) Justin Fisk, DNS: Loyd Clevenger
Pyrotech Fuel Cells 4th Heat (8 Laps): 1) Travis Scott, 2) Justin Melton, 3) Michelle Melton, 4) Bryson Oeschger, 5) Chris Kelly, 6) Blake Scott, 7) Shane Gloeckler
B Feature (12 Laps): 1) Chad Wilson, 2) Andy Shouse, 3) Chris Kelly, 4) Chip Graham, 5) Elliott Amdahl, 6) Shane Gloeckler, 7) Shayla Waddell, 8) Justin Fisk, 9) Eric Matthews, 10) Blake Scott, 11) Loyd Clevenger, DNS: Scott Evans
A Feature: 1) Joe Wood, Jr. (7), 2) Michael Day (10), 3) Kevin Ramey (5), 4) Andy Shouse (16), 5) Justin Melton (6), 6) Brandon Jennings (14), 7) Shane Sellers (3), 8) Austin Mundie (13), 9) Taylor Courtney (9), 10) Jessie Graham (20), 11) Dillon Laden (11), 12) Chris Kelly (19), 13) Cody Whitworth (2), 14) Chas Wilson (17), 15) Michelle Melton (12), 16) Blake Daccus (1), 17) Travis Scott (4), 18) Tanner Conn (15), 19) Gary Owens (8), 20) Bryson Oeschger (16)
Lap leaders: Whitworth 1-6, Wood 7-25

David Smith Jr.

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy