California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
September 19, 2017 at 06:37:50 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2915


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, September 19, 2017) 2010 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Champion Jarret Kramer of Spring Valley can start putting the wrapping on his second title when the CLS hits the Bakersfield Speedway for the next to last time in 2017, this Saturday night, September 23rd.  Joining the CLS on “The West’s Fastest 1/3-Mile-High Banked Clay Oval” will be the Racesaver Winged Sprints, Modifieds, Sport Mods and Hard Tops.  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. with racing at 7:00.

Kramer, 35, comes into Saturday’s race 104-points ahead of Lakewood teenager Aiden Lange and four-time series champ Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita who are tied for second.  Kramer, who took the point lead at the first race of the year in El Centro in March, has the best record of the top three at Bakersfield thus far this year.  In the first three races he has a win, a second and a third.  Lange has recorded fourth, sixth and eighth places on the Kern County clay oval this year.  While those two have fond memories of the track this season, the same cannot be said of Michnowicz who has a win, but also has a 17th and a DNS.  The other winner at Bakersfield this year was Madera’s Charlie Caracillo. 

Michnowicz’ who raced two nights last week in Bloomington, Indiana, is currently the hottest driver in the CLS having won the last three races in a row. 

After Saturday’s race, the CLS will only have three races remaining in 2017.  The next two will be at the series home track, the Ventura Raceway, on October 7th and 28th.  The season will then come to a close at the Western States Lightning Championship USAC National at Bakersfield on November 18th.   

Fans wishing to attend the race at Bakersfield, can find the track at 5001 North Chester Ext, Bakersfield (93008).  The phone number is (661) 393-3373 and the website is:

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 1646

2. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1542

2. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 1542

4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1389

5. Eric Greco - Palmdale - 1292

6. Chris Dickey - Murrieta – 1247

7. Brent Sexton - Lakewood - 1158

8. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena - 1095

9. Wyatt Downing Lakewood – 1003

10. Dan Hillberg - Placentia – 984


2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer

March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz

March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer

April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out

April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey

May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe

May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – A.J. Bender

June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo

June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National - Chris Dickey

July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo

August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

August 26: Perris Auto Speedway– USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA

October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

November 18: Bakersfield Speedway – Western States Lightning Championship USAC National

**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy